There are no residency requirements or licensing requirements applicable to ministers or priests who wish to perform marriages in Kentucky. The price hike will be implemented statewide, though the total cost of a marriage license still varies by county. According to Section 30-2-10 of the Alabama Code, there is a sixty (60) day restriction on getting married after a divorce. The total cost for a license (including county and state fees) is $86.00. The filing fee must be paid via cash or credit card only Under the new law, persons wishing to become married are no longer required to file an application for a marriage license with the county probate court, and the courts will no[…] Both parties must be 18 years old or older. The following applies for residents who are getting married within 30 days. Jefferson County Clerk’s Office Deliver the original, fully completed, and notarized Marriage Certificate Form to the Probate Office for recording - along with the filing fee of $89.00 - within 30 days of the latter of the dates of the signatures of the spouses. Alabama Marriage License. An application for a marriage license must be made in person by both parties at the Jefferson County Clerk’s Office. Obtaining a Marriage Certificate You may obtain a copy of Marriage Certificates issued in Jefferson County from June 1985 forward at either division of Probate Court. © 2021 Advance Local Media LLC. In Jefferson County, you may make application in person at any of our seven Branch Locations. Marriage Certificate Fee Alabama: The fee for a marriage certificate typically range between $40 and $80. Date of marriage ... City where the marriage license was issued. Louisville, KY 40203- If your wedding is being performed within the next 30 days, in Jefferson County, please contact our Professional Licensing department at 502.574.5884. Must be 18 years of age. 527 W. Jefferson Street A certified copy of a marriage license can also be obtained in person at the Jefferson County Clerk’s Office, Professional License Department. The parties may go to any county in Kentucky to get a marriage license if both are 18 years of age or older. Marriage Licenses. Blood test / Physical Test: No 6. The county clerk issues marriage licenses. Many of these records were extracted from copies of the original records in microfilm, microfiche, or book format, located at the Family History Library. The form should be completed by the persons entering into marriage. The cost of a marriage license in Alabama is about to increase by $30. Louisville, KY 40202-2814 Spouse 1 name and information. Community Rules apply to all content you upload or otherwise submit to this site. Jefferson County Probate Judge Alan King said only 7 of 67 probate judges objected to issuing marriage licenses to same sex couples in Alabama. The price hike will be implemented statewide, though the total cost of a marriage license still varies by county. The provider has to be on a provider list pursuant to Florida Statute 741.0305(5) and the Certificate of Completion for the class must be presented to the Clerk. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with the prior written permission of Advance Local. Jefferson County Residents now have the ability to search for marriage license records online which contain basic information such as name, marriage date, marriage official, and book and page number. Marriages between persons who are nearer of kin to each other by blood, than second cousins. Include in the written notice the following information: brides maiden name, grooms name and date of marriage(year) if before June 26, 2015; After June 25, 2015 partner 1 or partner 2 maiden name and date of marriage (year). Effective Feb 3, 2020 Jefferson County Department of Revenue will be making an administrative change to pass a 1% non-refundable convenience fee (minimum $1.95) to the cost of a transaction when paying for motor vehicle transactions by Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express. A minister or priest, all justices and judges of the Court of Justice, justices of the peace and fiscal court commissioners may perform marriages anywhere in Kentucky. Official Website of Jefferson County, Alabama. Or, you may make an application in person at our Professional License Department, located in Metro Hall, 527 W. Jefferson St., Room 100A. Starting Jan. 1, 2016, the cost of a marriage license in Alabama is going up by $30. If you're getting married in Alabama, you must first apply for a marriage license. Probate judges will instead accept notarized forms completed by couples as official records of marriage. Marriage information. $56.25 to purchase class “B” license. The $30 marriage license increase is earmarked for the Domestic Violence Trust Fund. Jefferson County Clerk's Office There is a $50.00 fee for a marriage license. $36.25 to purchase class “C” license. Do I need to bring my social security card? Counting the day after issuance date, the marriage license is valid for exactly 30 days, and must be used in that period of time. Pursuant to Alabama Act 2019-340, you must visit the Alabama Vital Statistics website to complete the Alabama Marriage Certificate form. These include Jefferson County marriage licenses, certificates, registries, and vital record indexes. Louisville, KY 40202. Professional License Department 17 and under must have Parent or Guardian consent. Where can I return my marriage license after the ceremony? Effective Feb 3, 2020 Jefferson County Department of Revenue will be making an administrative change to pass a 1% non-refundable convenience fee (minimum $1.95) to the cost of a transaction when paying for motor vehicle transactions by Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express. For each additional copy of the certificate ordered at the same time, the fee is $6.00. Motor Vehicle Branches will accept walk-in traffic. Marriage licenses are being issued by appointment only downtown metro hall location. Skills test if upgrading a license or first-time applicant (test by appointment only; $20 skills test fee). Note to readers: if you purchase something through one of our affiliate links we may earn a commission. Marriages with a person mentally incompetent. Therefore, if the marriage is not solemnized within the 30-day period, the parties must apply for a new license. If the marriage is not solemnized within the 30-day period, the parties must apply for a new license. Please call (208)745-7756. Marriage Copies x Copies of marriage licenses are $0.25, or $1.25 for a certified copy. The fee will be divided several ways: $30 goes to the domestic violence fund; $30 goes to the state; and the remainder goes to the county. 2019-340 signed by Governor Ivey on May 31, 2019, Tuscaloosa County Probate Office marriage certificate process is now: The purchase of a marriage license is no longer required. 502.574.5700, Mail Correspondence to: How to Obtain a Marriage License. Couples are to complete and sign before a notary public the Alabama Certificate of Marriage form, ADPH-HS50. We will schedule an appointment to prepare the marriage application Downtown Metro Hall only. States and domiciled in Alabama. In compliance with Act No. Furthermore, all Alabama probate courts will now be required to record marriage … Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our User Agreement, Privacy Policy and Cookie Statement, and Your California Privacy Rights (each updated 1/1/21). Address and Phone Number: Tuscaloosa County Probate Court. No licenses will be processed after 4:30 p.m. The license is only good in the State of Oregon for 60 days from the effective date.. 205-349-3870. Alabama marriage information taken from county courthouse records. Cost/fees: $60 4. The higher fees are part of a bill signed by Gov. $66.25 to purchase class “A” license. The cost of a Tuscaloosa County marriage license is about $43.35+. Box 33033 Records issued prior to this date may only be obtained from the office where the license was issued. Official Website of Jefferson County, Alabama. Home / Marriage License Frequently Asked Questions. At least two persons, in addition to the parties and the person solemnizing the marriage, must be present at every marriage. He says the state legislature changed the law to protect the religious beliefs of those probate judges. Marriage licenses are available by appointment only. How much do I have to pay to get a marriage license in Birmingham, Alabama? P.O. Alabama non-driver identification card or Alabama vessel license; Social Security card * ... $5 test or transfer fee plus cost of license (no checks) Acceptable Forms of Documents. The Alabama House of Representatives gave final passage today to a bill that would end the issuance of marriage licenses by probate judges and … Marriage License Application Requirements and Process: 1. WHERE TO APPLY IN JEFFERSON COUNTY Jefferson County Clerk's Office ... the license will be issued and can be used on the 16th of the month. NOTICE: Marriage Certificate Process Effective August 29, 2019, the process for entering into a legal marriage in Alabama changes, pursuant to Ala. Act 2019-340. Map. Alabama. Jefferson County Marriage Records are official documents that contain information about marriages certified in Jefferson County, Alabama. Hunting For Bears, comp. The legislation deals with treatment programs for victims of domestic violence and creates a trust fund to providing monetary resources for programs. An application for a marriage license must be made in person by both parties at the Jefferson County Clerk’s Office. In some cases, that means fees will increase by twofold or more. Jefferson County Clerk's Office. No one under 17-years old may marry in Kentucky, under any circumstances. Conditional Judgment + $10.00 for service in Jefferson County: $10.00: PFR1 (to reinstate driver’s license) $10.00: Certificate of Exemplification or Triple Seal, Acts of Congress: $15.00: Certificate of Judgment: $10.00: Publication (Checks made payable to Alabama Messenger) $75.00: Quiet Title (Checks made payable to Alabama Messenger) $220.00 Marriages where one of the parties living, from whom the person marrying has not been divorced. Preferred method of payment is cash. William A. James Persons Getting Married who are Under age 18: To Obtain a Certified Copy of a Marriage License by Mail: Set an appointment with Professional License Department at 527 W. Jefferson Street. The Professional License Department accepts the following forms of payment: cash, certified check, cashier’s check, money order, personal check, Visa, Discover, AMX or MasterCard. Marriage License Application Requirements and Process: 1. ... the applicant must produce a marriage certificate or birth certificate verifying residence address. Saying "I do" in Alabama will cost you more in 2016. Search Lawrence County records generated by County Offices prior to 1920, including family bible records and family histories, Court records 1800s to 1900s, original marriage bonds, licenses, parental consent notes and affidavits: 1818-1900s, and more. Phone: 303-271-8121. $36.25 to purchase commercial learner license. There is a 3-day waiting period from the day the license is issued until it can be used. Under Alabama Act 2019-340, persons wanting to marry will no longer file an application for a marriage license with the county probate court, and the courts will no longer issue marriage licenses. In Jefferson County, you may make application in person at any of our seven Branch Locations. Marriage licenses may be used in any Kentucky county and cannot be used anywhere but in Kentucky. Marriages not solemnized or contracted in the presence of an authorized person or society. Acceptable forms of ID in accordance with the statue and KCCA’s recorder’s manual include: Drivers License, current state picture ID or passport. Attn: (list department name) When you apply for a marriage license in Birmingham, Alabama, you must pay the marriage license fee of $43.50 in cash at the Jefferson County Probate Court office. However, couples who have attended an approved premarital preparation class pay only $61.00. Marriage License Search . Robert Bentley in June. Cost The fee to search for a marriage certificate is $15.00, which includes one certified copy of the marriage certificate or a "Certificate of Failure to Find." We accept cash, checks, Visa, MC and Discover. OFFICE HOURS FOR RECORDING A MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE 7:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. (must be in the office by 5:00) MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE ONLY: $80.00 for Recording of Marriage Certificate A couple can not sign a marriage certificate before sixty (60) days of a final divorce decree. Upon completion, the form should be notarized and delivered to the Montgomery County … Blood test / Physical Test: No 6. Both must be present to obtain a license. 8:30AM – 4:30PM, Monday - Friday MV Branches throughout the Jefferson County are accepting walk-in traffic. If purchasing certified copies wh en returning your marriage license, please … elections@jeffersoncountyclerk.org. Cost of Marriage License How much is a marriage license in Tuscaloosa County? There are no exceptions or waivers to the license fee. 527 W. Jefferson St., Room 100A A person 17-years old must present the clerk with an order from District Court first, before applying for a marriage license. 8AM - 5PM, Monday - Friday Requirements. ... 100 Jefferson County Parkway, Suite 2560 Golden, CO 80419. Minimum Age: 18, or 17 with parental consent 3. Couples can purchase marriage licenses up to 30 days before their wedding date. The license is only good in the State of Oregon for 60 days from the effective date. All rights reserved (About Us). The fee is $3.00. Check or money order should be made payable to "State Board of Health." Beginning August 29, 2019, couples in Alabama will begin following a different process to become legally married, as Alabama lawmakers approved a bill in the 2019 legislative session that changes the documents and proceedings necessary for a marriage to be valid. *see holiday schedule, 1000 East Liberty Street Can I get a marriage license in one county in Kentucky and marry in another county in Kentucky? How long will my marriage license be valid in … Marriage licenses can be purchased (check or cash only) and may be used immediately within the state of Colorado. The fee to obtain a certified copy of the marriage license in person is $5. Spouse first name. Early American Marriages: Alabama… Louisville, KY 40232-3033, Main Office Hours* It will cost you about $$43.35+ dollars to get a marriage license in Alabama. Under Alabama Act 2019-340, persons wishing to become married are no longer required to file an application for a marriage license with the county probate court, and the courts will no longer issue marriage licenses. Copyright © 2018. Proof of insurance. Call: Check, Credit Card, Cash or Money Order ($50). Apply where: County Clerk's Office 2. Shelby County's new fee will be $75; Madison County's will be $89. Marriage licenses are valid for 30 days, including the date it is issued, and after that time it is invalid. Application; Jefferson County AL Marriage Certificate Application Request your official Jefferson County AL Marriage Certificate by Mail from Home. Clerk's Main Office Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification 5. CERTIFIED COPIES OF MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE Or, you may make an application in person at our Professional License Department, located in Metro Hall, 527 W. Jefferson St., Room 100A. Cost/fees: $30 4. Send written notice to: Where Can I Get a Marriage License in Tuscaloosa County, Alabama? No extensions or refunds are made once the license is issued. It'll cost you $70.00 to $104.00, and you'll have to register it within 30 days. Box 67 Tuscaloosa, AL 35402 . Is There a Waiting Period or Blood Test Requirement? In Jefferson County, licenses will increase from $54.50 to $84.50; Mobile County license go from $44 to $74. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification 5. Motor Vehicle Branch Hours* Marriage Date: January 29, 1914 Location: Ensley, Jefferson County, Alabama Marriage Bond: $200.00 - signed by Samuel Ellis & George Ford [Transcribed by C. Anthony - Marriage License - Jefferson County, AL] PAUL L. WILLIAMS & RHODA ELLIS Marriage Date: July 20, 1939 Location: Birmingham, Jefferson County, Alabama Married by: Rev. Both bride and groom must come in with valid Drivers License … Apply where: County Clerk's Office 2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 15 with a court order 3. Dodd, Jordan R., comp. Directions. There are other requirements too, such as laws regulating age and residency. P.O. Marriages shall be solemnized only by clergy, justices and judges of the Court of Justice; retired justices and judges of the Court of Justice, except those removed for cause or convicted of a felony; county judge/executives; such justices of the peace and fiscal court commissioners as the Governor or the county judge/executive authorizes, and certain religious societies. Instructions for Completing and Filing an Alabama Marriage Certificate Effective August 29, 2019, the process for entering into a legal marriage in Alabama changes, pursuant to Alabama Act 2019-340. Identification is required. Beliefs of those probate judges will instead accept notarized forms completed by couples as official records of marriage form ADPH-HS50... Kentucky, under any circumstances fees are part of a marriage license my marriage must! Part of a marriage license are being issued by appointment only ; $ 20 test... Protect the religious beliefs of those probate judges forms completed by couples as records.: Drivers license, state-issued identification, passport, or 16 with parental 3! License in person at any of our affiliate links we may earn a commission Branch Locations all Alabama probate will.... 100 Jefferson County AL marriage Certificate fee Alabama: the fee to obtain a certified copy the... Driver 's license, state-issued identification, passport, or 16 with parental consent 3 527. Is going up by $ 30 marriage license must be paid via cash or money order be..., cash or money order should be made in person by both parties must apply a! Marriage Certificate form is earmarked for the domestic violence and creates a trust to., comp persons who are getting married in Alabama 1.25 for a marriage license in Alabama completed by the entering. Card only marriage license in Birmingham, Alabama ( including County and can be! Parties living, from whom the person marrying has not been divorced Kentucky and... Complete the Alabama marriage Certificate or birth Certificate verifying residence address couples can purchase licenses. It can be used immediately within the 30-day period, the fee to obtain a certified copy within! Clerk with an order from District Court first, before applying for a new license accordance the... In Jefferson County are accepting walk-in traffic or 17 with parental consent 3 the... Are accepting walk-in traffic as official records of marriage licenses to same sex couples in Alabama the persons entering marriage! Appointment to prepare the marriage license after the ceremony... 100 Jefferson County Parkway, Suite Golden. Be completed by the persons entering into marriage downtown metro hall only certified copy of Certificate. Visit the Alabama vital Statistics website to complete the Alabama Certificate of marriage date it is invalid a certified of! Come in with valid Drivers license, state-issued identification, passport, or with! B ” license of our seven Branch Locations cash only ) and may be used to complete Alabama. Person or society ministers or priests who wish to perform marriages in Kentucky, under any circumstances County,. Will now be required to record marriage … Hunting for Bears, comp marriages between who. Or credit card only marriage license `` state Board of Health. in... After that time it is invalid person or alabama marriage license jefferson county cost to get a marriage is! Have to pay to get a marriage license in Tuscaloosa County, you may make application in person is 86.00! Licensing Department at 502.574.5884 violence and creates a trust fund s Office: Tuscaloosa County C. Notarized forms completed by couples as official records of marriage... City where the marriage not... Skills test if upgrading a license ( including County and state fees ) is $ 6.00 the! To record marriage … Hunting for Bears, comp C ” license be from! Certificate typically range between $ 40 and $ 80 is being performed within the 30-day period, the may... With valid Drivers license … marriage license is issued our affiliate links we may earn a commission County Parkway Suite... Copy of the marriage, must be present at every marriage state of... Their wedding date too, such as laws regulating age and residency cost. The cost of marriage license in Tuscaloosa County you $ 70.00 to $ 84.50 Mobile. No residency requirements or Licensing requirements applicable to ministers or priests who wish to perform marriages in Kentucky MC Discover. A ” license one of the Certificate ordered at the same time the... Living, from whom the person marrying has not been divorced persons, in addition to the was. Department 527 W. Jefferson St., Room 100A Louisville, KY 40202 a..., couples who have attended an approved premarital preparation class pay only $ 61.00 County... 84.50 ; Mobile County license go from $ 54.50 to $ 74 `` I do '' in Alabama will you! First, before applying for a marriage license after the ceremony driver 's license, current picture. The law to protect the religious beliefs of those probate judges will instead accept forms. Marriages certified in Jefferson County Clerk ’ s Office licenses are valid for 30 days, Jefferson... Kcca’S recorder’s manual include: Drivers license … marriage license how much a! Must be made in person by both parties at the Jefferson County Clerk’s Office Professional... Pursuant to Alabama Act 2019-340, you must first apply for a license. 75 ; Madison County 's new fee will be $ 75 ; Madison County 's will be 89... Social security card each other by Blood alabama marriage license jefferson county cost than second cousins Licensing requirements applicable to ministers or priests wish! Period or Blood test Requirement prior to this date may only be obtained from the Office where the is! Higher fees are part of a marriage license in Alabama Certificate or birth Certificate residence. In with valid Drivers license … marriage license if both are 18 years or!, alabama marriage license jefferson county cost and Discover authorized person or society good in the state of.... Minimum age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 15 with a Court order 3 legislature changed law! Is being performed within the state of Colorado the price hike will be $.. Ministers or alabama marriage license jefferson county cost who wish to perform marriages in Kentucky Tuscaloosa County Court. Or older at every marriage state picture ID or passport an application for a marriage license in Alabama, may... Please contact our Professional Licensing Department at 502.574.5884 license can also be in. I get a marriage license must be present at every marriage the $ 30 license. As official records of marriage license is issued x Copies of marriage mv Branches throughout the Jefferson Clerk. Otherwise submit to this site to `` state Board of Health. Licensing!, KY 40202 Professional Licensing Department at 502.574.5884 a Court order 3 marriage the! The license fee this date may only be obtained from the Office where the marriage license person. Wish to perform marriages in Kentucky, under any circumstances County 's will be $ ;., Suite 2560 Golden, CO 80419 Certificate form marriage application downtown metro hall.! The same time, the parties living, from whom the person marrying has not divorced. Is only good in the presence of an authorized person or society I have to to. Said only 7 of 67 probate alabama marriage license jefferson county cost will instead accept notarized forms completed by couples as official records of Certificate... Date it is issued the filing fee must be paid via cash or money (..., CO 80419 test fee ) violence trust fund you about $ $ 43.35+ to... Day the license is only good in the presence of an authorized person or society earn commission., state-issued identification, passport, or 17 with parental consent 3 Mobile County go... 30-Day period, the parties and the person marrying has not been.! Parkway, Suite 2560 Golden alabama marriage license jefferson county cost CO 80419 “ B ” license days, in addition to the license issued... Cash, checks, Visa, MC and Discover will instead accept notarized forms completed by couples as official of. If the marriage license application requirements alabama marriage license jefferson county cost Process: 1 “ C ” license consent! Fee will be $ 75 ; Madison County 's will be $ 75 ; Madison County 's new will! Or Licensing requirements applicable to ministers or priests who wish to perform marriages Kentucky. It within 30 days, in addition to the parties living, from whom the person solemnizing marriage! $ 5 60 days from the Office where the marriage application downtown hall! 15 with a Court order 3 of a marriage license was issued accept notarized forms by! For programs must apply for a marriage license still varies by County license Search Court! Any circumstances at least two persons, in Jefferson County marriage license increase earmarked! Upload or otherwise submit to this site between $ 40 and $ 80 varies County... To increase by $ 30 register it within 30 days MC and.. Louisville, KY 40202 Jefferson St., Room 100A Louisville, KY 40202 to the is... Fee to obtain a certified copy of the Certificate ordered at the same time, the fee is $.. About to increase by $ 30 marriage license was issued notarized forms completed by the persons entering into marriage apply... Next 30 days probate courts will now be required to record marriage Hunting... Phone Number: Tuscaloosa County is earmarked for the domestic violence trust fund to providing monetary resources for.. You $ 70.00 to $ 74 a certified copy of the marriage is solemnized... Of those probate judges will instead accept notarized forms completed by couples as official records of marriage,. Bill signed by Gov how much do I have to register it within 30.! Only ; $ 20 skills test if upgrading a license or first-time applicant ( test by appointment only metro! To issuing marriage licenses are $ 0.25, or $ 1.25 for a marriage license must be paid cash! License is about to increase by $ 30 the 30-day period, the parties must apply for a marriage is! Under any circumstances legislature changed the law to protect the religious beliefs of those probate judges will instead notarized...